

District Council

NOTICE OF DAY OF BY-ELECTIONS

NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

As a result of extra-ordinary vacancies, notice is given under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, that the following persons have been duly nominated as candidates for:

Ohope Beach Community Board (3 vacancies)

BALL, Gary

JENKINS, Bruce

NAPIER, Steve

THOMPSON, Murray

TOLLEY, Allan

Murupara Community Board (Murupara Subdivision)

(1 vacancy)

CHRISTIE, Daryl

MEIHANA, Carolyn

As there are more candidates than vacancies, by-elections will be held between the above candidates on Tuesday 11 February 2014, under the first past the post electoral system by postal vote.

ISSUING OF VOTING DOCUMENTS

Voting documents will be posted to electors from Monday 20 January 2014.

RETURN OF VOTING DOCUMENTS

Voting documents must be returned no later than noon, Tuesday 11 February 2014 to the electoral officer, Whakatane District Council.

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered at the following Council offices between Monday 20 January 2014 and Monday 10 February 2014 during normal office hours, and Tuesday 11 February 2014 until 12 noon:

- Administration Offices, Whakatane District Council, Civic Centre, Commerce Street, Whakatane
- Murupara Service Centre, Civic Square, Murupara

SPECIAL VOTING

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised at the above Council offices and times or by phoning 0800 922 822 where one will be posted out.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector right up to and including 10 February 2014 – the day before the close of voting.

Dated at Whakatane, 17 December 2013

Dale Ofsoske Electoral Officer Independent Election Services Ltd *for* Whakatane District Council

phone 0800 922 822