

FACT SHEET | WHĀRANGI MEKA

2025 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTIONS 11 OCTOBER 2025





→ WHAT DOES COUNCIL DO?

The Whakatāne District Council meets regularly to make many decisions that impact the day-to-day lives of people in the district. The Council governs a wide range of local services including roads, water systems, rubbish collection, libraries, parks, community centres, dog registration, community and economic development and district planning.



BACKGROUND

Local government triennial elections are being held by postal vote on Saturday 11 October 2025 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to Whakatāne District Council

The first past the post voting (FPP) electoral system will be used for both the Whakatane District Council and the Bay of Plenty Regional Council elections.



2025 KFY DATES

| Nominations open | Friday 4 July |
|----------------------------|---------------------------|
| Nominations close | noon, Friday 1 August |
| Delivery of voting packs | from Tuesday 9 September |
| Close of voting | noon, Saturday 11 October |
| Official results announced | Friday 17 October |



→ WHO IS BEING ELECTED?

Elections will be required for the following positions:

- → Mayor (elected 'at large')
- \rightarrow Councillors (10)
 - Rangitāiki General Ward (2)
 - Whakatāne-Ōhope General Ward (4)
 - Te Urewera General Ward [1]
 - Rangitāiki Māori Ward (1)
 - Kāpū-te-rangi Māori Ward (1)
 - Toi ki Uta Māori Ward (1)

- → Community Board Members (24)
 - Rangitāiki Community Board (6)
 - Whakatāne-Ōhope Community Board (6)
 - Tāneatua Community Board (6)
 - Murupara Community Board (6), made up of:
 - Galatea-Waiōhau Subdivision (2)
 - Murupara Subdivision (3)
 - Te Urewera Subdivision (1)
- → Bay of Plenty Regional Council Members
 - —Eastern Bay of Plenty General Constituency (2); or
 - -Kōhi Māori Constituency (1).

In addition electors will be able to vote on a poll — whether to retain or disestablish Māori wards for the Whakatāne District Council. The outcome of this binding poll will apply to the 2028 and 2031 triennial elections.

→ HOW CAN I BE NOMINATED?

Nominations for these positions open on Friday 4 July 2025 and close at noon on Friday 1 August 2025.

For online nominations go to: www.esp.electionservices.co.nz.

Printed nomination papers and a candidate handbook will also be available during this period from:

- → Whakatāne District Council Civic Centre. 14 Commerce Street, Whakatāne;
- → Murupara Library & Service Centre, Civic Square, 48 Pine Drive, Murupara;
- → Edgecumbe Library, 38 College Road, Edgecumbe;
- → Ōhope Library, 4 Harbour Road, Ōhope;
- → Whakatāne Library and Exhibition Centre, 49 Kākahoroa Drive, Whakatāne
- → or download and print at: www.whakatane.govt.nz.

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate **must** be:

- \rightarrow a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony); and
- → enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and
- → nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the respective area that a candidate is standing for.

A candidate information handbook will be available in May 2025.





→ WHO CAN VOTE?

Those eligible to vote are all resident electors and nonresident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes on Friday 1 August 2025. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from Friday 4 July 2025 to Friday 1 August 2025 at the locations overpage.

Resident Roll: All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (e.g. change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

- → completing the appropriate form (available from the Electoral Commission or Council offices and libraries):
- \rightarrow phoning 0800 36 76 56:
- → accessing the Electoral Commission website: www.vote.nz

Ratepayer Roll: If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the nonresident Ratepayer Roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (provided the nominated person resides outside the area).

To check if you may be eligible, or to obtain an enrolment form, go to www.ratepayer.co.nz or www.whakatane.govt. nz,

All electors will be able to vote for the mayor and respective community board members. Those electors on the general electoral roll will be able to vote for respective general ward councillors and those electors on the Māori electoral roll will be able to vote for the respective Māori ward councillors.

→ HOW TO VOTE?

Voting packs will be posted to all those who have enrolled from Tuesday 9 September 2025.

The voting period is just over four weeks (Tuesday 9 September 2025 to noon Saturday 11 October 2025).

Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange prepaid envelope sent with their voting document.

Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Tuesday 9 September 2025 until noon Saturday 11 October 2025 at the following locations:

- → Whakatāne District Council Civic Centre, 14 Commerce Street, Whakatāne:
- → Murupara Library and Service Centre, Civic Square, 48 Pine Drive, Murupara, until 5pm, Friday 10 October 2025.

In addition, votes can be hand delivered to a vote box at specific locations found on www.whakatane.govt.nz.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by noon Saturday 11 October 2025.

RESULTS

Progress results will be known early afternoon on election day, and preliminary results will be announced on Sunday, 12 October 2025. Final results will be announced by Friday 17 October 2025 and all results will be accessible on Council's website: www.whakatane.govt.nz.

WHAKATĀNE DISTRICT WARDS AND COMMUNITY BOARDS









Dale Ofsoske | Electoral Officer Independent Election Services Ltd Level 2, 198 Federal Street, auckland PO Box 5135 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1142

Email: info@electionservices.co.nz

Phone: 0800 922 822

Chirese Viljoen | Deputy Electoral Officer Whakatāne District Council Civic Centre, 14 Commerce Street, Whakatāne Email: chirese.viljoen@whakatane.govt.nz Phone: (07) 306 0500