

DECLARATION OF RESULTS OF ELECTION

for the Whakatane District Council 2016 elections

I hereby declare the results of the elections held on 8 October 2016 for the following offices:

MAYOR (one vacancy) Votes Received Votes Received Votes Received 3405 POCOCK, Karen BONNE, Tony 765 REWETI, Julian (Independent) 819 1680 MCLEAN, Doug 3065 VAN DER BOOM, Mike JUKES, Julie 1275

Informal votes received: 22 Blank votes received: 194

I therefore declare Tony BONNE to be elected.

COUNCIL

Galatea-Murupara Ward (one vacancy)

CHRISTIE, Daryl 65 SILCOCK, Alison 298 TULLY, Tracey (Independent) 43 91 TE AMO, Jackie Kareti HYNES, Ormond 80

Informal votes received: 1 Blank votes received: 4

I therefore declare Alison SILCOCK to be elected.

Rangitāiki Ward (three vacancies)

HAHIPENE-GEDDES, Wini 1275 ORR, Russell 1619 JOHNSTON, George 1807 VAN BEEK, Gerard 1767

Informal votes received: 1 Blank votes received: 123

I therefore declare George JOHNSTON, Russell ORR and Gerard VAN BEEK to be elected.

Tāneatua-Waimana Ward (one vacancy)

ILES, Andrew 400 SHEARER, Ian 168 173 TE POU, Ni MCLEAN, Hohepa 32

Informal votes received: 3 Blank votes received: 13

I therefore declare Andrew ILES to be elected.

Whakatāne-Ōhope Ward (five vacancies)

ALLAN, Kevin 977 POCOCK.Karen 1866 TANCZOS, Nandor 2752 JARRETT, Scott 2837 PULLAR, John (Independent) 2453 TURNER, Judy 4075 3082 JUKES, Julie 2941 REWETI, Julian (Independent) 1755 VAN DER BOOM, Mike 2277 KARETAI, Mawera SHEAFF, David 2631 WATT, Robbie 1234

Informal votes received: 34

Blank votes received: 81

I therefore declare Scott JARRETT, Julie JUKES, Nandor TANCZOS, Judy TURNER and Mike VAN DER BOOM to be elected.

COMMUNITY BOARDS

Murupara Community Board

Murupara Subdivision (three vacancies)

HYNES, Ormond 174 MEIHANA, Carolyn 153 165 RANGIWAI, Byron 153 JENNER, Mem

Informal votes received: 0

Blank votes received: 3

I therefore declare Ormond HYNES and Mem JENNER to be elected. Carolyn MEIHANA and Byron RANGIWAI achieved an equality of votes and under regulation 58(5) of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001, the electoral officer is required to determine by lot which candidate is to be declared elected. On Friday 14th October 2016 both candidate names were placed in a hat and Byron RANGIWAI's name was drawn out by a member of the NZ Police. Byron RANGIWAI is accordingly declared elected.

Rangitaiki Community Board (six vacancies)

<i>3711</i>						
BOURK, Graeme	1349	DENNIS, Gavin	1247	JONES, Daimen	842	
BYRNE, Kris	1426	HARVEY, Evan	1294	STEVENSON, Charelle	1498	
CLARK, Alison	1476	HIND, Paula	1076	STRINGER, John	1056	

Informal votes received: 3 Blank votes received: 210

I therefore declare Graeme BOURK, Kris BYRNE, Alison CLARK, Gavin DENNIS, Evan HARVEY and Charelle STEVENSON to be elected.

Whakatane-Ohope Community Board (eight vacancies)

BOREHAM, Kay	2646	HAMILL, Carolyn	2250	MANNING, Jennifer	2009			
BULLEN, Chris	1748	HANNA, Moira	2130	MORGAN, Mike (Independent)	1475			
CASEY, Gerard	2519	INMAN, Mark	2211	NAPIER, Steve	1656			
CHAMBERS, Christine	3231	KING, Michael	1898	POOLE, David	1126			
DELAHUNTY, Neville	2224	LANDER, Peter	1967	ROBINSON, Kristy	1384			
HALL, Tony	1986	LARSEN, Abraham	1502	TOLLEY, Allan	1779			

Informal votes received: 13

Blank votes received: 386

I therefore declare Kay BOREHAM, Gerard CASEY, Christine CHAMBERS, Neville DELAHUNTY, Carolyn HAMILL, Moira HANNA, Mark INMAN and Jennifer MANNING to be elected.

Dated at Whakatāne, 14 October 2016

Dale Ofsoske

Electoral Office

Whakatāne District Council

Civic Centre, Commerce Street, Whakatāne (Phone 0800 922 822) **Local Elections 2016** YOUR VOTE OUR COMMUNIT