

WATT, Robbie

TOLLEY, Allan

# NOTICE OF DAY OF ELECTION

## for the Whakatane District Council 2016 elections

#### NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

Notice is given under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that the following persons have been duly nominated as candidates for:

MAYOR (one vacancy)

BONNE, Tony POCOCK, Karen REWETL Julian (Independent) JUKES, Julie MCLEAN, Doug VAN DER BOOM, Mike

COUNCIL

Galatea-Murupara Ward (one vacancy)

CHRISTIE, Daryl SILCOCK, Alison TULLY, Tracey (Independent)

HYNES, Ormond TE AMO, Jackie Kareti

Rangitāiki Ward (three vacancies)

HAHIPENE-GEDDES, Wini ORR. Russell JOHNSTON, George VAN BEEK, Gerard

Tāneatua-Waimana Ward (one vacancy)

ILES, Andrew SHEARER, Ian TF POU, Ni MCLEAN, Hohepa

Whakatāne-Ōhope Ward (five vacancies)

TANCZOS, Nandor ALLAN, Kevin POCOCK, Karen JARRETT, Scott PULLAR, John (Independent) TURNER, Judy VAN DER BOOM, Mike JUKES, Julie REWETI, Julian (Independent)

KARETAI, Mawera SHEAFF, David

**COMMUNITY BOARDS** 

**Murupara Community Board** 

Murupara Subdivision (three vacancies) HYNES, Ormond MEIHANA, Carolyn RANGIWAI, Byron JENNER, Mem

Rangitāiki Community Board (six vacancies)

BOURK, Graeme DENNIS, Gavin JONES, Daimen BYRNE, Kris HARVEY, Evan STEVENSON, Charelle STRINGER, John

CLARK, Alison HIND, Paula

Whakatāne-Ōhope Community Board (eight vacancies) BOREHAM, Kay HAMILL, Carolyn MANNING, Jennifer

LARSEN, Abraham

MORGAN, Mike (Independent) BULLEN, Chris HANNA, Moira CASEY, Gerard INMAN, Mark NAPIER, Steve CHAMBERS, Christine KING, Michael POOLE, David ROBINSON, Kristy DELAHUNTY, Neville LANDER, Peter

As there are (for each office) more candidates than there are vacancies to be filled, an election will be held between

the listed candidates on Saturday, 8 October 2016, under the first past the post electoral system by postal vote.

Murupara Community Board

HALL, Tony

Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision (two vacancies)

JENKINS, Bruce MCCARTHY Patrick

As the number of candidates does not exceed the number of vacancies. Bruce JENKINS and Patrick MCCARTHY are duly declared elected members of the Murupara Community Board (Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision).

Te Urewera Subdivision (one vacancy)

TE AMO, Jackie Kareti

As the number of candidates does not exceed the number of vacancies, Jackie Kareti TE AMO is duly declared elected a member of the Murupara Community Board (Te Urewera Subdivision).

Tāneatua Community Board (six vacancies)

CHATER, Geoff (Independent) ROBERT, Michael YALDEN, Diane

As the number of candidates does not exceed the number of vacancies, Geoff CHATER, Les KNOWLES, Michael ROBERT, Luke RUITERMAN and Diane YALDEN are duly declared elected members of the Taneatua

RUITERMAN, Luke

Community Board. **ISSUING OF VOTING DOCUMENTS** 

Voting documents will be posted to electors from Friday, 16 September 2016.

### **RETURN OF VOTING DOCUMENTS**

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered to the following council offices between Friday, 16 September 2016 and Friday, 7 October 2016 during normal office hours, and Saturday, 8 October 2016 between 9am - noon:

- Civic Centre, Commerce Street, Whakatāne
- Murupara Service Centre and Library, Civic Square, Pine Drive, Murupara

### SPECIAL VOTING

KNOWLES, Les

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised at the above council offices and times.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector right up to and including 7 October 2016 - the day before the close of voting.

Dated at Whakatāne, 17 August 2016

Dale Ofsoske **Electoral Officer** Whakatāne District Council Civic Centre, Commerce Street Whakatāne (Phone 0800 922 822) **Local Elections 2016 YOUR VOTE** YOUR COMMUNIT