NOTICE OF ELECTION, NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES AND ENROLMENT ARRANGEMENTS

for the 2016 Local Authority Elections

The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2016:



WHAKATĀNE DISTRICT

(First Past the Post electoral system)

MAYOR

Election of Mayor

COUNCIL

Election of one councillor for the Galatea-Murupara Ward

Election of three councillors for the Rangitāiki Ward

Election of one councillor for the Taneatua-Waimana Ward

Election of five councillors for the Whakatāne -Ōhope Ward

COMMUNITY BOARDS

Election of six members for the Murupara Community Board consisting of:

two members for the Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision

three members for the Murupara Subdivision

one member for the Te Urewera

Election of six members for the Rangitāiki Community Board

Election of six members for the Tāneatua Community Board

Election of eight members for the Whakatāne -Ōhope Community Board

Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting documents.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Whakatāne District Council Civic Centre, Commerce Street, Whakatāne Phone 0800 922 822



KAWERAU DISTRICT COUNCIL

(First Past the Post electoral system)

MAYOR

Election of Mayor

COUNCIL

Election of eight Councillors

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting documents.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Kawerau District Council Ranfurly Court, Kawerau Phone 0800 922 822



BAY OF PLENTY DISTRICT HEALTH BOARD

(Single Transferable Voting electoral system)

Election of seven members for the Bay of Plenty District Health Board

Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting documents.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Bay of Plenty District Health Board Corner Cameron Road and 18th Avenue, Tauranga Phone 0800 922 822



BAY OF PLENTY REGIONAL COUNCIL

(First Past the Post electoral system)

COUNCIL

Election of two members for the Eastern Bay of Plenty Constituency

Election of two members for the Rotorua Constituency

Election of five members for the Tauranga Constituency

Election of two members for the Western Bay of Plenty Constituency

Election of one member for the Kohi Constituency

Election of one member for the Mauao Constituency

Election of one member for the Okurei Constituency

Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting documents.

Lucinda Butt, Electoral Officer Bay of Plenty Regional Council 5 Quay Street, Whakatane Phone 0800 884 880

NOMINATIONS

Nominations for the above positions open on **Friday 15 July 2016** and must be made on the appropriate nomination paper for each position, available from the relevant Electoral Officer. Completed nomination documents must be received by the relevant Electoral Officer no later than **noon on Friday 12 August 2016**. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of \$200 incl GST, payable by cash, cheque or electronic (eftpos, internet) – see candidate information handbook for requirements.

Candidates are advised that if they are intending to submit a candidate profile statement and photograph for sending out with voting documents to electors, these must be lodged at the same time as the nomination paper and nomination deposit. The requirements for candidate profile statements and photographs are set out in the relevant candidate information handbook available with a nomination paper.

Bay of Plenty District Health Board candidates must also submit a Conflict of Interest Statement with their nominations. Requirements of the Conflict of Interest Statement are included in the relevant candidate information handbook.

ELECTORAL ROLLS

Preliminary electoral rolls for the above elections can be inspected at the following locations during normal office hours from Friday 15 July 2016 to Friday 12 August 2016:

WHAKATĀNE DISTRICT COUNCIL

- Administration Offices, Civic Centre, Commerce Street, Whakatāne
- Murupara Service Centre & Library, Civic Square, Pine Drive, Murupara
- Edgecumbe Branch Library, 38 College Road, Edgecumbe
- Öhope Branch Library, Harbour Road, Öhope
- Whakatāne Library, 49 Kakahoroa Drive, Whakatāne

KAWERAU DISTRICT COUNCIL

- District Office, Ranfurly Court, Kawerau
- Kawerau Library, Jellicoe Court, Kawerau

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

- completing an enrolment form available at post shops, libraries
 or relevant District Council offices
- calling 0800 ENROL NOW (0800 36 76 56)
- visiting the Elections website (www.elections.org.nz).

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm on Friday 12 August 2016.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the relevant District Council Electoral Officer before 5pm Friday 12 August 2016.