NOTICE OF DAY OF ELECTION

for the Whakatāne District Council 2019 elections



Nominations received

Notice is given under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that the following persons have been duly nominated as candidates for:

Mayor (one vacancy)

GOODMAN, Hinerangi IMMINK, Lesley

JUKES, Julie LUCA, Victor

JAMES, Wilson

PAUL. Wetini

NGAROPO,Pouroto

VAN BEEK, Gerard

NGAROPO. Pouroto ORR. Russell

TURNER, Judy

Council

Galatea-Murupara Ward

(one vacancy)

Rangitāiki Ward

(three vacancies)

DENNIS, Gavin

GEDDES, Wini

GOODMAN, Hinerangi SILCOCK, Alison TE AMO, Jackie

Tāneatua-Waimana Ward

(one vacancy)

ILES, Andrew TIAKIWAI, Hans TITOKO, Marewa Elizabeth

RANGIAHO, Mel (Independent)

Whakatāne-Ōhope Ward

(five vacancies) BOREHAM, Kay BOYNTON, Toni BRYANT, Talei

IMMINK, Lesley IARRETT, Scott JUKES, Julie LARKING. Neil LUCA, Victor

MANNING, Jennifer

MARRIOTT, Wayne

MCLEAN, Doug OGLE, Adyn PULLAR, John SOPORA, Steve TANCZOS, Nandor

VAN DER BOOM, Mike WANA, Crete WANA, Shonelle

Community Boards

Murupara Community Board

Murupara Subdivision (three vacancies)

GOLDSMITH, James HYNES, Ormond JENNER, Memorie

O'BRIEN, April Waiarangi

Rangitāiki Community Board

(six vacancies) BOURK, Graeme BYRNE, Kris CLARK, Alison HALE-RIDDIFORD, Dee-Danya

HARVEY, Evan NGAROPO, Pouroto WAAKA, Leeann

Whakatāne-Ōhope **Community Board** (eight vacancies)

BARTON, Anaru BONNE, Linda CASEY, Ged (Independent) FENTON, Sue HALL Tony

HAMILL, Carolyn

HANNA. Moira HOWARD. Christopher INMAN, Mark LEE, Cindy

MANNING, Jennifer VIOLICH, Kevin

As there are (for each office) more candidates than there are vacancies to be filled, an election will be held between the listed candidates on Saturday, 12 October 2019, under the first past the post electoral system by postal vote.

Galatea-Murupara Ward

(four vacancies)

As there are insufficient candidates to fill the vacancies a by-election will be held in the new year.

Murupara Community Board

Te Urewera Subdivision

(one vacancy)

TE AMO, Jackie Kareti

As the number of candidates does not exceed the number of vacancies, Jackie Kareti TE AMO is duly declared elected a member of the Murupara Community Board.

Tāneatua Community Board (six vacancies)

BOYNTON, Toni FALKNER, Mary Meka KNOWLES, Les LESUEUR, Yvonne

RUITERMAN, Luke YALDEN Diane

exceed the number of vacancies, Toni BOYNTON, Mary Meka FALKNER, Les KNOWLES, Yvonne LESUEUR, Luke RUITERMAN and Diane YALDEN are duly declared elected members of the Taneatua Community Board.

As the number of candidates does not

Issuing of voting documents

Voting documents will be posted to electors from Friday, 20 September 2019.

Return of voting documents

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered at the following council offices between Friday, 16 September 2019 and Friday, 11 October 2019 during normal office hours, and Saturday, 12 October 2019 between 9am - noon:

- Civic Centre, Commerce Street, Whakatāne
- Murupara Service Centre and Library, Civic Square, Pine Drive, Murupara

Special voting

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised at the above council offices and times.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector right up to and including 11 October 2019 – the day before the close of voting.





Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Whakatāne District Council Civic Centre, Commerce Street, Whakatāne