

DECLARATION OF RESULTS OF ELECTION

for the Whakatāne District Council 2022 elections

I hearby declare the results of the elections held on 8 October 2022 for the following offices:

Mayor (one vacancy)	Votes Received
BRYANT, Talei (Independent)	331
ELKINGTON, Jacquelyn	366
IMMINK, Lesley	1527
LUCA, Victor	3192
PULLAR, John	1880
TANCZOS, Nandor	2368
TURNER, Judy	1934
Informal votes received: 24	

Blank votes received: 88

I therefore declare Victor LUCA to be elected.

COUNCIL

Rangitāiki General Ward (two vacancies)	Votes Received
DENNIS, Gavin	1348
ELKINGTON, Jacquelyn	379
JAMES, Wilson	1380
VAN BEEK, Gerard	891

Informal votes received: 1

Blank votes received: 76

I therefore declare Gavin DENNIS and Wilson JAMES to be elected.

Whakatāne-Ōhope General Ward (four vacancies)	Votes Received
BRYANT, Talei (Independent)	801
HAMILL, Carolyn	2535
IMMINK, Lesley	3035
JAHN, Ozgùr	1695



JUKES, Julie	2611
LUCA, Victor	3977
PULLAR, John	3385
TANCZOS, Nandor	2746
WILSON, Vern (Whakatane Residents & Ratepayers Group)	1440

Informal votes received: 20

Blank votes received: 50

I therefore declare Lesley IMMINK, Victor LUCA, John PULLAR and Nandor TANCZOS to be elected.

As Victor LUCA has been declared elected mayor to the Whakatāne District Council, their name has been withdrawn and the next highest polling candidate Julie JUKES is declared elected.

Te Urewera General Ward (one vacancy)	Votes Received
---------------------------------------	----------------

ILES, Andrew (Independent) 610

SILCOCK, Alison 355

Informal votes received: 0

Blank votes received: 32

I therefore declare Andrew ILES to be elected.

Rangitāiki Māori Ward (one vacancy) Votes Received

O'BRIEN, Tu 384

VERCOE, Rihi 227

Informal votes received: 7

Blank votes received: 43

I therefore declare Tu O'BRIEN to be elected.

Toi ki Uta Māori Ward (one vacancy) Votes Received

RANGIAHO, Ngapera (Te Huinga a Matariki ki Tūhoe MWWL) 405

TE AMO, Jackie Kareti 288

Informal votes received: 0

Blank votes received: 21

I therefore declare Ngapera RANGIAHO to be elected.



COMMUNITY BOARDS

Rangitāiki Community Board (six vacancies)	Votes Received
BROWN, Heemi	856
ELEFTHERIADIS, Zoe (Independent)	805
FALWASSER, Pete	1164
FLOWERDAY, Peter	1269
GARDINER, Ross (Independent)	1461
HALE-RIDDIFORD, Dee-Danya	568
MCINDOE, Clive (Independent)	1557
RANDELL, Israel	385
STURME, Ashlee	709
THOMPSON, Tangi-Mereana	712
WAAKA, Leeann	1324

Informal votes received: 6

Blank votes received: 159

I therefore declare Heemi BROWN, Pete FALWASSER, Peter FLOWERDAY, Ross GARDINER, Clive MCINDOE and Leeann WAAKA to be elected.

Whakatāne-Ōhope Community Board (six vacancies)	Votes Received
BAKER, Tony	1027
BONNE, Linda	2593
HAMILL, Carolyn	4118
HOWARD, Christopher	3008
HOWE, Michael	1875
INMAN, Mark	3955
JAHN, Ozgúr	2827
KINGI, Quin	1066
LEE, Danae	1449
MCLEAN, Doug	3112
PICKLES, Steve	2525
SAMAL, Tania	1013



TAYLOR, Emmeline (Independent)

1933

Informal votes received: 10

Blank votes received: 263

I therefore declare Linda BONNE, Carolyn HAMILL , Christopher HOWARD, Mark INMAN , Ozgúr JAHN and Doug MCLEAN to be elected.

Murupara Community Board

Galatea-Waiōhau Subdivision (two vacancies)

Elected unopposed when nominations closed were Ken BANNAN and Ngapera RANGIAHO.

As Ngapera RANGIAHO has been declared elected to the Toi ki Uta Māori Ward, their name has been withdrawn resulting in a by-election being required on 17 February 2023.

Dated Whakatāne, 14 October 2022

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer

Whakatāne District Council

4 Commerce Street, Whakatāne

Phone: 0800 922 822