Notice of By-Elections Whakatāne District Council Murupara Community Board (Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision) Tāneatua Community Board



As a result of extraordinary vacancies on the **Murupara Community Board (Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision)** and the **Tāneatua Community Board** of Whakatāne District Council, notice is given under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, that the following persons have been duly nominated:

Murupara Community Board (Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision) – one vacancy:

ANDERSON, Maera

SILCOCK, Alison

Tāneatua Community Board – two vacancies:

GEORGE, Tash (Independent)

STENSNESS, Moana Mihimarino

As the number of candidates for the Tāneatua Community Board does not exceed the number of vacancies, Tash GEORGE and Moana Mihimarino STENSNESS are duly declared elected.

As there are more candidates for the Murupara Community Board (Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision) than there are vacancies to be filled, an election will be held between the listed candidates on Friday 17 February 2023, under the first past the post electoral system by postal vote.

Issue of Voting Documents

Voting documents will be posted to electors from Thursday 26 January 2023.

Return of Voting Documents

Voting documents must be returned no later than noon, Friday 17 February 2023 to the electoral officer, Whakatāne District Council.

Voting documents can be returned by post, or hand-delivered during normal business hours from Thursday 26 January 2023 to the following locations:

- Temporary Customer Service Centre, Whakatāne District Council, 4 Commerce Street, Whakatāne;
- Murupara Service Centre & Library, Civic Square, Pine Drive, Murupara.

Special Voting

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised at the above times and locations.

Order of Candidate Names on Voting Documents

Candidate names will appear in random order on the voting documents pursuant to regulation 31 of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001.

Dated at Whakatāne

22 December 2022

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Independent Election Services Ltd for Whakatāne District Council